The International Whaling Commission is an international organisation which regulates whaling. The IWC is supposed to manage thirteen species of large@whales, including all baleen whales and the sperm whale, the largest toothed whale. At about eight metres, the minke whale is the second smallest of the baleen whales, which means that the IWC sets the catch quotas for minkes. However, small cetaceans, such as the Baird's beaked whale and the pilot@whale, as well as other dolphins and porpoises, are regulated separately by@the national governments. The Japanese government therefore sets the@whaling catch quotas for these species scientifically to ensure sustainable harvests.